Posted in Between the Weeds

This is my final year of being pro Etsy.

Has this year been what you expected? If your answer is no then look at what made it not be and start from there. This year I expected so much to happen in my Etsy shop and selling my home so I could relocate to Vermont. Both of these areas did not come close to what I expected. What I discovered is simply this I put my faith in the wrong people. Now at the end of 2014 I have a great realtor working for me so I do not have to contend with selling a house on top of everything else. I also see the hard work and oodles of money going into Etsy is not working. Things changed and Etsy is not what it was.

Are you interested in setting up shop at Etsy? Be sure you do so knowing you are lining the pockets of a business marketing themselves as a handmade creative site. Not so anymore. You have to promote. By promoting your Etsy shop you funnel people into Etsy and not necessarily your shop. So why not promote and invest in your art, your products with your site? Keeping people interested in your work and product is challenging but all that hard work is for you. I chose Weebly because it is extremely easy to use and you can change your design at any time. They have top-notch help center ready with any answers to all your concerns. I had many when I first set up my four sites. The money I spent each month at Etsy with little sales to show for it now spent on these sites. Slowly my sales have increased and have doubled my Etsy best year sales.

Using my knowledge and crunching the numbers and facts it is crazy for me to keep working with Etsy. So as the products expire I will stop renewing. Only a few will remain to keep the shop alive. If you enjoy my work you will always be able to buy my work at Between The Weeds Store at Laurie Rohner Studio or at any of my web sites (see below for links).

I hate to see so many fine artists and creative entrepreneurs go down the rabbit hole at Etsy. I would love to hear your opinion.

watercolor mixed media painting
Available art at Between The Weeds
 Nature Art Watercolor Illustration Original Artwork by Laurie Rohner available in my store here.
I have three active web sites with weebly and would love if you could take a peek at them.
Hope you enjoy!
Author:

Laurie is a US-based nature botanical artist known for her detailed whimsical flower watercolors. Using only the finest quality materials her paintings murals and custom painted furniture are investment pieces that will bring nature home for decades to come.

Leave a Reply

