Posted in art, Between the Weeds, inspiration, Laurie Rohner, LRStudio

Stop and listen to the message.

“In all instances, you need to examine your addictive thinking.

Virtually every spiritual tradition teaches that your higher self is the presence of God within you. When you know this power within yourself, you no longer think in terms of anything that you must have or do with reference to external needs. In Christianity, this inner knowing is referred to in the commandment that says ‘… for behold, the kingdom of God is within you.’ In Confucianism we are told, ‘What the undeveloped man seeks is outside. What the advanced man seeks is within himself.’ In Buddhism we are reminded, ‘If you think the Law is outside yourself you are embracing not the absolute Law but some inferior teaching.’ In Shintoism we are implored, ‘Do not search in distant skies for God. In man’s own heart He is found.’ And finally, in Hinduism we are told, ‘God hides hidden in the hearts of all.’  Within each and every one of us is a divine power that needs no substance or anything external to know bliss.”

  Dr. Wayne Dyer

Sometimes you have to stop and listen to the message being brought to you, not by through your thoughts but by the way of Spirit.  Spirit is gently telling me to listen and I have learned the hard way that if I do not listen the message only gets louder and finally comes the wake up call. We all know those moments when we stand in the midst of chaos and look back saying to our self  ‘Oh why didn’t I listen the signs were all there’. I have to confess it still takes me to the half way point before I see there IS a message.

In the past few days I have been bombarded with messages of freedom, change, letting go, strength, and finally today I read this quote by one of the best people I have never met on this earth Dr. Wayne Dyer. I have done the work and studied how to be the best me only to come up short every time. I have read The Secret, Law of Attraction and meditated till I am blue until this week. There is a glimmer of awareness, of wakening, of knowing that was not realized until now.

All things I believe happen in their own right time. We can make choices but the lessons and purpose for this life is always there waiting for you to unfold. I now think The Secret is another front for living a lie. Law of Attraction is nothing more than a coined phrase and we (particularly me) need to stop thinking in the limited mind set this law can bring. It is too easy to say you are not applying the law properly and it works only when you work with the law in this way. Odds are it will work sometimes but all the time, Not. Oh yes not applying the law right, nonsense.

Watercolor Painting Botanical Garden Woodland Flowers
Illustration Inspiring Words Saying Artwork by Laurie Rohner

Life is about screwing up just so you can get it right. Life is about finding joy and love in the mundane things you do every day. Life is about staying in your own flow with Spirit. Not your father, mother, brother, husband, wife, boyfriend, girlfriend, friend, neighbor, minister, priest, organization, or group but your precious unique one of a kind authentic life. Life is divine, life is Spirit, life is nature and life is connected to each and every thing in the Universe.

In my life I screwed up, screwed up badly for the past several years. I looked for help outside of myself. I read everything only to find nothing worked but why? Because I looked outside of my self and not within. Once I grasp the idea I was the one creating the life around me, you can realize, I am also the one who can recreate the life around me.

Books are great they can keep you focused. I love quotes because they do the same. Today I stood with Tuck after our morning walk and listened felt the air over my skin and breathed the air in and in that moment nothing was impossible. When you experience these moments I am hoping they are nods from Spirit that I discovered another piece in my puzzle of my life. Discovering where the pieces fit is trial and error. Remembering to let your self off the hook for screwing up is one of the pieces. Realizing you have many shots at getting it right no matter how old or young you are another. Loving the you inside the image fabulous. Seeing the true self standing beside Spirit epic.

Look in the mirror of your own life and whom do you see? Love the image of you for you and Spirit are one. Damn you are pretty awesome right?

Author:

Laurie is a US-based nature botanical artist known for her detailed whimsical flower watercolors. Using only the finest quality materials her paintings murals and custom painted furniture are investment pieces that will bring nature home for decades to come.

Leave a Reply

