A weekend is for finding my ‘self’.

“The most common ego identifications have to do with possessions, the work you do, social status and recognition, knowledge and education, physical appearance, special abilities, relationships, personal and family history, belief systems, and often political, nationalistic, racial, religious, and other collective identifications. None of these is you.”

Eckhart Tolle, best-selling author and speaker.

This weekend is for finding my ‘self’. I feel like I have been transported back to the 70’s when I write that statement. Everyone was finding themselves and maybe we should try to find our selves again?

After a month of scattered chaotic emotions and challenging situations, you (I) have no option but to surrender, take a hard look at what is going on in your (my) life and find the stillness. I don’t mean sit and contemplate in deep meditation, no, I mean be aware of the thoughts and feelings when they bubble to the surface and see them from a different perspective. Be unattached just the observer and insight is found. I find walking in the woods or painting to be my place where stillness is found most in my life. Yours may be found washing the dishes or housecleaning in general, playing with your kids, conversing with friends, even going shopping. What I mean is be aware in the moments and see, if you can, what the universe is so desperately trying to tell you. It always is sending you little messages but we become so driven by the ego we never see, hear or believe the messenger.

My passed loved ones.  Still stop in for a visit.
My passed loved ones.
Still stop in for a visit.

Maybe your life is like my own and have had one too many losses, both in possessions (financially) in relationships and in the deaths (I prefer passing) of those that knew your heart all to well. I have experienced much living and with each one I have found a deeper compassion for people nature and life in all the yucky-ness. Though I will tell you I am tired today. I need something to work for my greater good. I need the Universe to give me a hug today. Problem though is I am the one stopping any and all of it from happening. So that is why I am taking the weekend (maybe the week) to find myself. When I reconnect with the Me, I then reconnect to the Divine Universe and to my very own greater good.

 

4 thoughts on “A weekend is for finding my ‘self’.

  1. This is all so true. I can relate wholeheartedly. I tend to have these moments on first awakening just before sun rise, finding myself in those quiet hours, reflecting on who I am coming to be.

  2. Thank You Laurie. Sending hugs your way on this Monday morning.

    Now open your arms slowly, close your eyes as you fold your arms around your body, feel the energy in the space between your arms and your body. Now squeeze tight locking in the unseen vibrational energy of the Universe. Did you feel it? Linger there for as long as you want to feel that connection.

    You ARE the Embodiment of the Universe. 😉

    It’s my way of getting and giving a hug to the Universe.

    I love your Woodland Landscapes, the first painting reminds me of the path to the woods on the backside of my property.

Leave a Reply

