Etsy relevancy or irrelevancy?

Really this is what is fresh on the etsy page and you wonder why your sales are off. Though I think it is pretty amazing I would not say it is fresh. I am finding more things on etsy being listed on the front pages of their site by Etsy administrators which is making the Etsy of yesterday trendy and irrelevant. I can also say my clients come to my shop and buy my things and leave. In fact take a note Etsy shop owners please do not waste your gorgeous creative energy worrying about not making it on the front page of anything at etsy. Instead use the energy to promote your shop with blogs and social content.

I love my etsy shop and keep working hard at filling it with new and quality custom painted work. I have made educated decisions through blogs such as Marketing Creativity by Lisa Jacobs or another great blog Handmadeology  to rethink how I creatively work at marketing my work. If you are like myself constantly learning about improving your creative business you need to keep exploring other possibilities.
In closing I have not one thing against the artist who created the product above. The problem is with Etsy. If this is what etsy administrators think is relevant then maybe that is the answer to the ever asked question in the many forums and teams at Etsy. They are marketing to a small group of people with trendy product that will be never seen again in 6 months from now. Work at creating quality products for your shop that offer something unique but not trendy is always the answer. Problem is Etsy finds this not relevant.
Some shops I like. Check them out.

 

Leave a Reply

