Spiritual practice do you?

“If you don’t have a spiritual practice in place when times are good, you can’t expect to suddenly develop one during a moment of crisis.”


Doug Coupland

Trees blooming in Jan

This past Sunday I was heading back home early and as I turned onto my street a squirrel ran out in front of me. I stopped and watched him run off and as I looked up there were these wonderful trees in the misty fog and in bloom. Wow what a sight.

Just to prove to myself yup blooming.

I am from New Jersey and mainly have lived in the Northern part of the US and no matter how long I live in this area (mid south) I just can not get my head around trees blooming in January. This is a first since living here though and it is a bit early but not by many weeks. My neighbors Camellia tree is also blooming (not mine). I mentioned this wonderful sight to some in the area but no one seemed impressed. I found it to be so joyful as if heaven said here is some much-needed beauty now will you please relax and enjoy.

A gift from heaven.
A gift from heaven.

I wonder if the people I questioned believed in a spiritual practice?  I have a hard time believing anyone who can not feel the hand of God when you serendipitously happen upon blooming trees in January. This one small moment has led me to follow my own beliefs and surrender to a spiritual every day life. You might think what is so special about some trees blooming in winter and why did it make any difference to anyone. You are right to anyone probably not but to this one uniquely special one of a kind soul it meant standing up taking another step forward knowing my path and my spiritual beliefs mattered. It means God listened to my rants and my pleas and I was OK. Those tiny blossoms were like whispers in my ears, tears filled my eyes and my heart filled with love. This is why I want to share this for those who are ranting and wondering if your pleas are being heard. Yes they are and isn’t that epic. My new word I am so in love with, epic. It is even fun to say.

2 thoughts on “Spiritual practice do you?

  1. I love this and as I am also a transplant to the mid south, I am forever amazed and in awe of the early blooms. In fact, I was just talking about this with a friend yesterday 🙂 Thank you for your post.

Leave a Reply

