Posted in Between the Weeds, fairies, inspiration, Laurie Rohner, Spiritual

Strength and growth.

“It is through solving problems correctly that we grow spiritually. We are never given a burden unless we have the capacity to overcome it. If a great problem is set before you, this merely indicates that you have the great inner strength to solve a great problem. There is never really anything to be discouraged about, because difficulties are opportunities for inner growth, and the greater the difficulty the greater the opportunity for growth.”

Peace Pilgrim

Yellow Peony watercolor painting by Laurie Rohner
Watercolor painting I did originally for this sweet person. I never got to give it to her so it is titled Miggie’s Flower. She loved yellow flowers and tree peonies.I think it is a nice tribute.

Many years ago I knew a great woman who had struggled with cancer from the age of 31 when she was diagnosed with ovarian cancer. She had a family and she was sent home after surgery to die. Her doctors said she had about 1 year maybe 18 months left on her life. This was long before she entered into my life. It would be another 25 years before I would have the honor of knowing this grand dame of strength and courage.

It has been 15 years this month when I went to the services honoring this women. She became a friend and a teacher. I remember her talks and there were days she would say “if one more person tells me God doesn’t give you more than you can handle I am going to spit in their eye”. I believe she would have. She believed in the strength of her own being and God was her support system and not her judge. She drew from that connection and through her astonishing survival of many more surgeries she never wavered in her resolve to grow and be more. She may not have known then how much she changed my outlook on life (though I suspect she did) and the lives of so many she never got to meet. Her story was how though given a horrible diagnoses it is not a doctors right to decide the outcome of a life. She battled cancer for 38 years, with sheer will power and enormous fortitude. In the end an unrelated corrective surgery caused an infection that struck her down. I think she just got tired of the battle and chose to leave. She passed due to heart failure not cancer.  Her soul said it is enough let’s go home, and she listened.

It wasn’t until I read this quote, that the memory of this women came flooding back. The lessons she had helped me see. I have felt very discouraged and angry at God. I want things to work now and not later. How many times we would have these same discussions? Never would we answer the question but her energy to find a solution and learn from it was always there. I am reminded that life is messy and out of great difficulties in my life I met this women who also dealt with insurmountable odds. She showed me opportunity is in the challenge and accept it with dignity and strength because you can be better than you ever dreamed. The trick was believing the challenge is a good thing. It is something you should be grateful for having and embrace it as a gift from God. A challenge is not a judgement passed down from above but instead a loving lesson to uplift you for something wonderful. It is hard to remember this but thankfully my angels, my guides and beloved fairies keep reminding me, and maybe my dear friend too.

Author:

Laurie is a US-based nature botanical artist known for her detailed whimsical flower watercolors. Using only the finest quality materials her paintings murals and custom painted furniture are investment pieces that will bring nature home for decades to come.

Leave a Reply

