Saying good-bye to my favorite painted furniture piece, ever.

Today I finalized the sale of one of my custom painted furniture pieces to a very lovely person and will have to say good-bye soon. I have sold many works of mine but a few I enjoyed tremendously. I tend to look at them as you would a child. It is the curse of being an artist because although you may create them or dare say give birth to them, there eventually comes a time to let them go. Today was that time for this wonderful trunk that had inspired so many other creations to find its wings and go to another home. I know this person is going to cherish it and it is why it needed to go. I realized in a quiet moment, that is my gift to the world as an artist to inspire, to share the beauty of nature, to make someones room shine and by doing so make that person smile and feel good about themselves. I said today to this beautiful person my intention, why I do my creative work is to bring joy to people.

Painted Cottage Trunk from my Painted Furniture Collection at laurierohner.com

I will certainly miss this work of painted furniture but then again I can build myself something new and wonderful to takes its place. I would say that is the upside to also being an artist. These words I live by ‘If you can imagine it, you can achieve it. Then again does not this creating thing apply to any profession or work of any kind?

Now I hope the postal service gets it there in one piece. I guess the angels and fairies will put in a few hours extra.

5 thoughts on “Saying good-bye to my favorite painted furniture piece, ever.

  1. I love painted furniture and the furniture I have in my home is priceless. I totally admire you for being able to give up one of your favourite pieces of furniture, I wouldn’t have been able to do it. However, it is nice knowing that someone else can enjoy the exquisite item. Painted furniture is again becoming popular among many home owners as the variety of furniture and colours available is vast. http://www.paintedfurnitureco.co.uk/

Leave a Reply

