My painted box seen in The Smurf movie.

Keepsake Box
Seen in the Smurf Movie
Wildflowers on Wood Box

Sometimes we simply need to take a bow and tell the world how tickled we are at what we have accomplished. Well this is my time.

A couple of years ago I sold a few pieces of my painted cottage farmhouse decor to a set designer for The Smurf Movie which has already been in the theaters. Since I don’t have any children around and Tuck does not qualify as one according to society I did not see the movie. Two days ago I took a break from what I was doing and haphazardly switched on the TV to find The Smurfs movie was on. I unfortunately missed almost all but the last half hour. I was tired and my body was aching. I probably will never see my things but to my elated joy there on the side table was one of the boxes. Wow there on the TV was my box and how many people might have seen it and liked it and I can not believe I made that, me. It was a fabulous boost to an otherwise weary artist spirit. I searched the scenes that followed for any of the other pieces (the tray and the other box) but could not see them. I know it was a possibility they never were used but there in the apartment in the middle of it all was my wildflower box. So I ask myself why did I turn the TV on and see that channel with that movie and the scene is with my box, which I only saw for about 5 minutes and then it was over and the characters moved on to another scene, then? Why because I needed a pat on the back and a reminder of why I create things to begin with and that is to bring joy to others and in turn I received more than I could imagine.

Thank you Spirit for giving me a hug and even though at times I doubt why I am doing this I will think back to seeing my box on the screen and remember, joy.

One thought on “My painted box seen in The Smurf movie.

  1. That’s lovely Laurie. The box is beautiful. Nice to think that it was seen by so many.

    I once watched a rerun of a decorating program here in Canada–same thing, don’t really know why I chose to watch it that day. The decorators were redoing the master bedroom of a home and, to be funny, they were snooping through the night tables. They pulled out a love note written on one of my cards! Well, if you’d heard me in our house, you would have thought I’d won the Oscar. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

