Posted in Between the Weeds, inspiration, LRStudio

Asking for solutions.

Woodland Fairy Princess Chair with Ferns

About a week ago there was a storm that went through my area lasting for about 2 days. My area got drenched with downpours and the ground quickly became saturated with water. When I  moved here I  was forced to deal with water seeping in the basement with a french drain being installed around the perimeter. Every so often I would discover water after one of these torrential downpours. I tried to find the source but it eluded me.

I have tried to live my life differently, by asking for solutions I am finding challenges easily become answers. During this storm I was set up to have my satellite dish installed. I had questions whether or not that would happen in this weather but that morning the installer called to confirm he was on his way. In the rain he tried to find a place to get my dish to work. I am surrounded with trees and knew there was a possibility they would block the signal.  In and out of the house he went with me following him about. In the basement we went and I thought to myself I hope it is still dry. Outside around the yard and back to the basement but this time water. I stood there shocked because not 15 minutes earlier it was dry. The installer had a flashlight and he briefly pointed it in one direction and there in the bricks was a sprout of water pouring over the lip of the french drain. I grabbed some plastic to plug it, later added some caulking. As the installer explained to me he would not go up on the roof in this weather I was thinking about the crack and heard myself saying how grateful I was he had come. He stared at me in disbelief but I quickly explained if he had not come I never would have seen the sprout and the answer would still be a mystery.

Two days later another installer and my satellite dish works like a dream. Every time I go outside and look up at the dish I smile and say thank you.

Author:

Laurie is a US-based nature botanical artist known for her detailed whimsical flower watercolors. Using only the finest quality materials her paintings murals and custom painted furniture are investment pieces that will bring nature home for decades to come.

Leave a Reply

