Posted in Between the Weeds, fairies, Laurie Rohner, whimsical, Woodland Fairies

Let me introduce you to Briar Goblinwitch, head faerie.

When the winds of March are wakening the crocuses and crickets,
Did you ever find a fairy near some budding little thickets,…
And when she sees you creeping up to get a closer peek
She tumbles through the daffodils, a playing hide and seek.
~Marjorie Barrows

Sweet Pea Fairy House for Garden

My studio is very busy collaborating with my faerie friend. New houses and furniture are in the works for all those wonderful gardens.

By the way let me introduce you to the head faerie and my dear friend Briar Goblinwitch. She has been very annoyed with me for not introducing her sooner. I do apologize. I am very lucky to have her in my life. She is indispensable in my studio, she coordinates her faerie friends who find all the bits and bobs of nature I use in the making of the houses and furniture.

In her faerie realm she lives in a leafy dell and a bluebell glade is near. Though I see her whenever I ask because she has deemed me worthy, to everyone else she can be seen in the enchanted moments between sleep and waking. Briar has dark spiked hair and intense blue eyes pointed ears with tiny wren feather earrings. She wears the softest suede navy pants, a bluebell blue wispy tunic with silver threads, a gold sunbeam belt cinched about her tiny waist and green wings like a butterfly. Briar is tall for a faerie and always has a devilish smile. You can not help but feel good when Briar is around. She has high flat boots and keeps her magical wand tucked in the right boot. Dangling around her neck on a silver chain is something that is very sacred to all faeries, their faerie dust. It is how they move from our realm to their own and without it, well you do not want to know. Forget about mama if a faerie ain’t happy nobody is happy.

Author:

Laurie is a US-based nature botanical artist known for her detailed whimsical flower watercolors. Using only the finest quality materials her paintings murals and custom painted furniture are investment pieces that will bring nature home for decades to come.

Leave a Reply

