So somebody is using your design style and what are you going to do?

On Etsy front page there is a seller who is making out quite well and that is fabulous. The problem is she has copied my design style.  At first outraged and extremely upset with Etsy for promoting her work. She is young and living in Brooklyn (which is where etsy.com is located). Her style was abstract. Now it is grass and flowers with my line work. She states that she draws each one by hand and her designs are not reproduced but her photos tell a different story. I have created my designs for decades now and I can honestly say I have never repeated a design exactly as the one earlier and never will. I take pride being the original designer of wildflowers and grass painted on wood walls and the occasional ceramic pottery. What made my work stand out was adding line work. For the most part all my designs are painted on pieces I have produced creating exceptional unique pieces of functional art.

Painted Furniture
Painted Keepsake Furniture with Flowers and Bees

Now I am sure we have all discovered people mimicking your style and like myself found themselves getting quite outraged. First calm yourself down and think about what has happened. I discovered instead of thinking she is stealing my style I flipped it around and said she is a success using my style so what I am doing must be good and well liked. Then I thought about what I was saying to the world with my thoughts and discovered I was limiting myself believing she was better than me or there wasn’t enough to go around for the two of us. And last I looked at what I could learn from her, how did she market ? were her pics better? her price point?

Everything in our lives happens good or bad (which is only your perception) for us to grow experience and learn. I am grateful for finding this artist. She is very talented and I really like her work which she does on ceramic. She has shown me to appreciate my style even more and to remember there is plenty for us all to prosper. At a time when I was doubting my style and ability in what I was doing I discovered her success and in turn found I still had value. So thank you my little etsy seller who lives in Brooklyn and paints her ceramics with grass and flowers. I wish you all the success you can paint.

Leave a Reply

