A few of my watercolors…

 

White Lilies
The Pink Lady

 

Watercolor are my first love. My technique is a process that is long and labor intensive taking many days to complete. I use a technique called glazing. I paint my images several times building and layering the pigments with washes of color. I find it gives the images a quality of depth and realism which is not what you expect with watercolor paintings. Most of the time I work from a multitude of photos to sketch out how I want the painting to look. I choose my color palette and then lay the first washes down on a cotton rag cold pressed paper. Recently I have experimented with some other materials such as aqua-board and watercolor paper mounted on board.

This painting The Pink Lady is in my collection and it is the painting that started me on this path of watercolor painting in large format. I had just recovered from a serious car accident and had lost my job all within weeks. This is a very special painting and I keep it because it represents how fragile life is and even though things look bleak you can always find light in your life.

The Shaded Trees is on the Panel I had discussed and though I enjoyed the subject matter I found my style and technique did not work as well on this base. I love this painting because I expect to see some magical beings to suddenly appear popping out from behind the trees.

Black Eyed Susans in the Field

 

 

You have to smile when you see Black Eyed Susans in the Field and that is this paintings sole purpose. Happy and content and ready for what ever is ahead.

 

 

 

 

The Shaded Trees is on the Panel I had discussed and though I enjoyed the subject matter I found my style and technique did not work as well on this base. I love this painting because I expect to see some magical beings to suddenly appear popping out from behind the trees.

The Shaded Woods

What a nice way to end this post. Have a happy day.

One thought on “A few of my watercolors…

Leave a Reply

